A bit of history and some stories about vintage bikes for sale

’67 Honda CB160

My motorcycling life started rather auspiciously on a Honda CB160. My father returned from his first tour of duty in Vietnam in 1966 and the first things he did was to buy a new car and a new motorcycle. The car; a 1966 Chevy Impala SS, the motorcycle; a Honda CB160. The car was big with a big motor, the motorcycle…well,uh, what happened? He could have bought a Triumph, a BSA, even a Harley…but a Honda 160?? Well, no matter what, my dad had a motorcycle.

The day came that dad asked me if I wanted to ride it. Now, at the ripe old age of fourteen the answer couldn’t have come any faster. As a matter of fact, I was sitting on the bike before he even finished asking the question! He gave me the original rider training course…”this is the clutch, this is the brake, the throttle, gear shift, etc, etc…”. All I cared about was starting the thing and riding. And ride it I did…right into the back bumper of his new Impala SS. Needless to say, it was a while before my dad let me ride the CB160 again.

Nowadays Honda CB160’s have become very popular with vintage roadracers. The trend started up in the Northwest and has spread all over the country. CB160’s have also become very popular among the cafe racer crowd, the cool chrome sided tank, the easily tuned motor and the fact that it is a cool mid sixties motorcycle doesn’t hurt either.

I found this really great CB today that could be turned in so many ways. It is set up for touring, believe it or not, with a big windshield and saddlebags (which I would instantly remove, well maybe keep the bags…). This little CB runs great according to the owner, looks to be in terrific condition and the only thing that looks to need immediate attention is it NEEDS new tires. You can buy tires that look like the original versions or you can upgrade a bit for better handling. All in all this looks to be a fun bike for anything from commuting to work, a Sunday ride, even racing. Click on the pics for more pic’s. It looks to me like this is a bike you could buy, fly out to go get it and ride it home. Might be a bit of a slow ride but a very classic ride.



’67 Honda CB160

Leave a Reply

