A bit of history and some stories about vintage bikes for sale

’57 Triumph Thunderbird

Like I have said before, my first ride on a ‘big’ bike was on my step dads 1950 something Triumph. I was hooked instantly. That bike started the lifelong British motorcycle sickness I still suffer from. Over the years I have owned a number of Triumphs; Bonneville’s, Daytona’s and a Tiger. The Bonneville’s were great, the Weslake 750 was far and away the fastest…yow!!. The Daytona’s were the most fun to ride; light, agile, quick and the one’s I miss the most. The Tiger was the easiest to ride and maintain because of the single carb instead of the duals, which were a pain to sync sometimes. I still have a newer generation Daytona that I have put nearly 100,000 miles on. I love Triumphs.

I found this beautiful ’57 Thunderbird on ebay this morning and it brought back a lot of good memories. It seems like almost every morning I find a bike that brings back some sort of a memory, mostly good ones. But, once in a while a memory comes flooding in that makes me shudder, you know, the ‘what was I thinking??’ type of memory. The Thunderbird brings back nothing but great memories. The owner has had this bike for 28 years and maintained it beautifully. This Triumph is immaculate in almost every way; original paint in great condition, the luggage rack on the tank, the cool front wheel stand, and check out the Thunderbird logo on the primary cover…too cool. The owner has replaced the exhaust system and the seat with reproduction items from England to keep it as original as possible.. In his own words this is a “first kick,smooth running,perfect in every way when last ridden” motorcycle. Some people tend to embellish the description of their motorcycle on ebay, but I have a feeling this guy is telling the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth about his Thunderbird.

If you’re looking for a classic British motorbike that probably won’t break the bank now or in the future, think seriously about this Thunderbird. There is on thing that needs to be done that would make it perfect though…get the right tyres for it. Click on the pic’s for more pics and more info.




’57 Triumph Thunderbird

Leave a Reply

